ADVERTISEMENT

2020-21 SCHEDULE, RECRUITING, BIG 12 RACE, TRISTAN, CHRISTIAN, AND EVERYTHING ELSE SELF SAID TODAY

shay

Senior Writer
Staff
May 29, 2001
Olathe, Kansas
kansas.rivals.com
Speaker 1:
For the last nine years it's been KU.

Coach Bill Self:
Well, I actually agree with that selection. If I was a coach in our league that could vote for anybody, I would vote for Baylor. I voted for Baylor, obviously, because you can't vote for your own team, but just being totally objective they return the best team on paper. And so when we lost to, obviously, [consensus 00:00:28] second team all Americans, and that doesn't bother me at all. I think they're deserving of that. Of course, as we all know, pre-season stuff really doesn't mean much, but I guess I was happy that the coaches thought enough of our team to pick a second, but it's going to be a great league race. It'll be wide open. There'll be ebbs and flows. There always are, but I actually agree with that prediction.

Speaker 3:
Hey, coach. Any kind of scheduling update? I know that there's been some rumors of some new games, but anything official yet?

Coach Bill Self:
Well, there's that, and they'll probably stay rumors, but I will tell you this Mark Few and I are committed to playing each other. So, hopefully that'll all come to be. I know they're in the negotiating stages and trying to finalize some things, but we anticipate having a game with Gonzaga to open the season but it hasn't been finalized yet. But certainly we believe that to be the case, and we'll be playing two games in this event when it is finalized and then we believe the champions classic, at this point in time, is under the same type of talks that hopefully can be finalized soon. But I don't think anything is etched in stone yet, even though we believe that these things are still great possibilities to occur.

Speaker 3:
Did you talk to Mark Few? Have you guys talked about this?

Coach Bill Self: